1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites

Germany and Five Eyes

December 12, 2013

With Frankfurt one of the world's biggest Internet hubs, German intelligence inevitably plays a role in Western surveillance programs. Germany would like to become a member of the exclusive Five Eyes (FVEY) alliance of intelligence operations between the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. The group is reluctant to admit Germany - but happy to use its technology.

Skip next section DW's Top Story

DW's Top Story

Pope Francis delivers a closing speech at a bishops' conference in Marseille
Skip next section More stories from DW
Go to homepage