1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
A picture shows the European Union flag fluttering under the Arc de Triomphe lit up in blue
Image: Julien de Rosa/AFP/Getty Images

European Union (EU)


The European Union is an economic and political union of 27 member states. It has a population of more than 500 million; Germany is its most populous member, France the largest by landmass.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis

Reports & Analysis

Show more