1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus

The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is a self-declared state that comprises the northeastern portion of the island of Cyprus. The TRNC is internationally recognized only by Turkey.

A united Cyprus gained independence from British rule in August 1960. Northern Cyprus is heavily dependent on Turkey for economic, political and military support. So far, international attempts to reach a solution to the Cyprus dispute have been unsuccessful. This page collates DW's latest content related to Northern Cyprus.

Show more articles