Germany announces preliminary U21 squad for European Championships | Sports| German football and major international sports news | DW | 26.05.2015
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Germany announces preliminary U21 squad for European Championships

Ahead of the U21 squad's training camp, coach Horst Hrubesch has named an impressive squad for the European Championships, which kick-off next month in the Czech Republic. The squad will be cut down to 23.

Germany U21 coach Horst Hrubesch has called-up 28 players for the national team's training camp ahead of the U21 European Championships in Czech Republic next month.

Second-division side Kaiserslautern has six representatives, albeit Kerem Demirbay is on loan from Hamburg and Amin Younes from Borussia Mönchengladbach.

Red Devils striker Philipp Hofmann was top scorer in qualification with six goals, the same number of strikes for the 22-year-old in the 2.Bundesliga.

"We have a tremendous amount of quality in our squad," said the team coach. "During the training camp, everybody has the chance to make things difficult for us to decide.

Since winning the U21 championships in 2009 in Sweden, Germany has failed to qualify and dropped out at the group stage.

With all Germany games located in the Czech capital Prague, Hrubesch's men will play Serbia on June 17, followed by Denmark three days later.

On June 23, the group concludes with a clash against the host nation. The final is due to take place on June 30. Hrubesch has until June 7 to whittle his squad down to 23 ahead of the tournament, which kicks-off on June 17.

Here is the full 28-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Timo Horn (Cologne), Bernd Leno (Leverkusen), Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona), Loris Karius (Mainz)

Defenders: Nico Schulz (Hertha), Christian Günter (Freiburg), Matthias Ginter (Dortmund), Willi Orban (Kaiserslautern), Julian Korb (Gladbach), Robin Knoche (Wolfsburg), Dominique Heintz (Kaiserslautern), Jeremy Toljan (Hoffenheim)

Midfielders: Johannes Geis (Mainz), Yunus Malli (Mainz), Emre Can (Liverpool), Kerem Demirbay (Kaiserslautern), Max Meyer (Schalke), Joshua Kimmich (RB Leipzig), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Leonardo Bittencourt (Hannover), Moritz Leitner (Stuttgart), Jean Zimmer (Kaiserslautern), Armin Younes (Kaiserslautern), Felix Klaus (Freiburg), Max Arnold (Wolfsburg)

Attackers: Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim), Philipp Hofmann (Kaiserslautern), Serge Gnabry (Arsenal)