1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
left to right: State Premier Philipp Scheidemann, Justice Minister Otto Landsberg, President Friedrich Ebert, Defense Minister Gustav Noske and Economy Minister Rudolf Wissell (black and white photo)
Image: akg-images/picture alliance

Weimar Republic

The Weimar Republic refers to the phase of the first parliamentary democracy in Germany from 1918 to 1933, which ended when the National Socialists seized power.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis