Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Rhineland-Palatinate is one of the 16 states of the Federal Republic of Germany. It has a population of four million. The city of Mainz is the state capital.

Located in western Germany, Rhineland-Palatinate borders North Rhine-Westphalia, Hesse, and Baden-Württemberg. It is Germany's leading producer of wine in terms of grape cultivation and wine export. This page collates DW content on the German state of Rhineland-Palatinate.

Show more articles