Lahm finally picks up the one that got away | Bundesliga | DW | 23.07.2017
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Lahm finally picks up the one that got away

Two months after retirement, Philipp Lahm has picked up one of the few accolades to elude him. Lahm has been named German Footballer of the Year, while Julian Nagelsmann and Dzsenifer Marozsan also picked up honors.

Lahm, who won eight Bundesliga titles and a World Cup during a glittering career, won the poll of sports journalists conducted by German sports magazine 'kicker' with 242 votes, ahead of Champions League winner Toni Kroos of Real Madrid, who won 192.

He is the fourth Bayern player, after Jerome Boateng, Mauel Neuer and Bastian Schweinsteiger to win the award in the last five years, with only Kevin de Bruyne breaking the recent monopoly when at Wolfsburg in 2015.

"It is a big distinction. I am really pleased. I guess the sports journalists were looking at my entire career," Lahm said after finally picking up the award.

Youth triumphs over experience

Hoffenheim boss Nagelsmann, who turned 30 on Sunday, also picked up the Coach of the Year award for the first time after guiding his side to a surprise Champions League berth.

He edged out Freiburg boss Christian Streich by just 12 votes with Ralph Hasenhüttl finishing in third. Nagelsmann dedicated the award to all his backroom staff and said it shows his side are on the right track.

Marozsan's exceptional season continues

USA Fußball SheBelieves Cup 2017 Deutschland - England (picture-alliance/Zumapress/CSM/J. Middlebrook)

Dzsenifer Marozsan is a key player for Germany

Completing the trio of first-time winners, was captain of Germany's women's side Dzsenifer Marozsan.

The playmaker has had a spectacular season, picking up the Women's Champions League and French Division 1 title with new club Lyon to add to her Olympic title from Rio. The Hungarian-born midfielder is currently in the Netherlands attempting to defend Germany's Euro title with the German squad.

"This award makes me very proud," she told the magazine. "The season has gone so well for me, I have won trophies, but being a footballer of the year is another special honor."

mp/jh (DPA/SID) 

DW recommends