1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
Workers are seen restoring fields and ponds at an agricultural and fish-farming cooperative in Mindouli, Republic of Congo
Image: Samir Tounsi/AFP/ Getty ImagesImage: Samir Tounsi/AFP/ Getty Images

Republic of the Congo

The Republic of the Congo is a central African nation whose capital is Brazzaville. It borders Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo and Gabon. The Republic of Congo gained independence from France in 1960.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis