1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


The Republic of Macedonia is a Balkan country located in southeastern Europe. It declared indepence in 1991, and its capital and largest city is Skopje.

Macedonia is one of the successor states of the former Yugoslavia. A landlocked country, it borders Albania, Kosovo, Serbia, Bulgaria and Greece. The majority of its roughly 2 million residents are ethnic Macedonians, along with a significant Albanian minority. This page collates all of DW's content on Macedonia.

Show more articles