Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Kosovo lies between Serbia, Macedonia, Albania and Montenegro. Its predominantly Muslim, ethnic Albanian population declared independence from Serbia in 2008.

Kosovo, a Balkan nation of 1.8 million people, has two official languages: Albanian and Serbian. Its capital is Pristina. Kosovo is a historically significant region for both ethnic Serbs and ethnic Albanians. In the late 1990s, a move for independence by its majority ethnic Albanian population sparked fighting, prompting a NATO aerial intervention in 1999. This is a collection of DW's latest content on Kosovo.

Show more articles