Germany′s post-war presidents | All media content | DW | 11.01.2022

Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Germany's post-war presidents

Germany's president serves as the head of state, but the role is mainly ceremonial. Here is a look back at the 13 individuals who have been the head of state of the Federal Republic of Germany since its founding in 1949.

The president is elected by the Federal Convention, consisting of all members of the federal parliament, the Bundestag, and the same number of delegates sent from the state parliaments. Any German citizen over the age of 40 is able to become president, he or she serves a term of five years, and can only be re-elected once.