Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Georgia is a country located in the Caucasus region. It formed a part of the former Soviet Union from 1922 to 1991.The capital and largest city is Tbilisi.

Georgia is situated between the Greater Caucusus and Lesser Caucasus mountain ranges. It is a democratic republic. It is a member of the Council of Europe and the GUAM Organization for Democracy and Economic Development, along with Azerbaijan, Moldova and Ukraine.

Show more articles