1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
Cannes Film Festival 2017 Jury
Image: picture alliance/MAXPPP/F. Dugit

70 years of Cannes jury members

Jochen Kürten eg
May 18, 2017

Celebrated for the 70th time this year, the Cannes film festival has welcomed hundreds of film directors and actors as members of the jury in charge of selecting the winner of the Golden Palm award.


The climax of the famous film festival on the French Riviera is certainly the award ceremony night, when the winner of the top accolade, the Palme d'Or, or Golden Palm, is revealed. This year, the event is held on May 28.

Until then, the members of the jury headed by Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar will have seen and discussed the merits of the 19 competing films.

German filmmaker Maren Ade is a juror this year, along with Jessica Chastain, Fan Bingbing, Agnès Jaoui, Park Chan-wook, Will Smith, Paolo Sorrentino and Gabriel Yared.

The films in the competition

The competition includes two works in German: Fatih Akin's thriller "In the Fade" and the drama "Happy End," by Austrian director Michael Haneke. While the latter has already obtained Cannes' top award twice (for "Amour" in 2012 and "The White Ribbon" in 2009), it would be Akin's first Palme d'Or and his greatest success to date.

Todd Haynes, François Ozon, Giorgos Lanthimos, Michel Hazanavicius and Hong Sang Soo are other directors in the running. Three female filmmakers have made it onto the list: Sofia Coppola, Naomi Kawase and Lynne Ramsay.

Click through the gallery above to revisit some of the stars who've been selected as members of the festival's prestigious panel in the past. The gallery below presents highlights from the festival.


Skip next section Explore more
Skip next section DW's Top Story

DW's Top Story

Police officers respond to a a shooting at Covenant School in Nashville, Tennessee

Nashville school shooting leaves 3 children, 3 adults dead

Skip next section More stories from DW
Go to homepage