1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites

Schengen area


The area comprises 26 European countries which abolished controls at internal borders implemented in 1995. It resembles a single state for international travel purposes with external border controls and common visas.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis

Reports & Analysis

Show more
Skip next section Opinion


Hofmann Maximilian Kommentarbild App

The year of last chances

Max Hofmann