1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
NATO logo is seen on a uniform during the NATO annual military exercise "Winter Shield" 2021 in Adazi, Latvia
Image: Gints Ivuskans /AFP



The North Atlantic Treaty Organization was created in 1949, in the wake of World War II. Members of the mutual defense alliance include much of Western Europe, the United States, Canada and Turkey.