Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


The Republic of Kenya in Africa borders on Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Ethiopia and Somalia to the northeast. Kenya is home to around 45 million people.

A former British colony, it gained independence in 1963. Kenya's economy is the largest by GDP in East and Central Africa. The capital Nairobi serves a regional hub. Agriculture is a major employer; the country traditionally exports tea and coffee as well as fresh flowers to Europe. This page is an automatic compilation of DW content.

Show more articles