FIFA announces finalists for the ′Best′ awards | Sports| German football and major international sports news | DW | 22.09.2017
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


FIFA announces finalists for the 'Best' awards

Football's world governing body has announced the finalists for its 'Best' awards, to be handed out next month. Bayern Munich and Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer is among the nominees.

When FIFA named this year's finalists in a statement released to the media on Friday, it came as little surprise that Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar were for the men's player award.

Ronaldo helped Real Madrid to a second consecutive Champions League title in 2016-17, finishing as the tournament's top scorer with 12 goals.

Messi and Neymar claimed Spain's Copa del Rey with Barcelona with the former finishing as the top scorer in La Liga with 37 goals.

Manuel Neuer the only German finalist

Bayern Munich's Manuel Neuer, who is out until January with a foot injury, is a finalist for the best goalkeeper award and the only German nominee – apart from Borussia Dortmund, who have been nominated in the 'fan award' category. Joining Neuer  as goalkeeper finalists are Juventus captain Gianluigi Buffon and Real Madrid's Keylor Navas.

Real Madrid manager Zinedine Zidane, Chelsea's Antonio Conte and Juventus boss Massimiliano Allegri are on the shortlist for the best men's coach award.

The women's player of the year award is to be contested between Venezuelan striker Deyna Castellanos, US midfielder Carli Lloyd, and Leike Martens, who helped Netherlands to the Euro 2017 title.

The awards ceremony is to be held in London on October 23.

DW recommends