Exceptional skyscrapers: the International Highrise Awards | Arts | DW | 03.11.2016
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Exceptional skyscrapers: the International Highrise Awards

Sustainability and quality of life are essential features of modern architecture. The International Highrise Award honors an innovative skyscraper that combines these aspects in an exemplary way.

Danish architect Bjarke Ingels' pyramid-like residential building in Manhattan, described as a "courtscraper" on the Hudson river, won the International Highrise Award on Wednesday. 

The prize recognizes the world's most innovative tall building and is considered one of the most important architecture awards worldwide.

Every two years since 2004, the International Highrise Award has selected a structure that combines outstanding spatial design and innovative functionality. Buildings need to be at least 100 meters high to be considered for this award and must have been completed within the last 24 months.

The award is jointly organized by the city of Frankfurt, the German Architecture Museum and DekaBank. It includes a 50,000-euro ($55,000) prize.

No European finalists   

Thirty structures from 14 countries entered the competition, among which the European Central Bank in Frankfurt. However, only two countries made it into the final round.

The shortlist of five finalists included three buildings in New York - the Four World Trade Center, the 432 Park Avenue and VIA 57 West - along with two skyscrapers from Singapore - the SkyHabitat and the SkyVille@Dawson. The picture gallery above reveals some of the features of these exceptional buildings.

An exhibition with the best structures of the year will be on show at the Deutsches Architekturmuseum in Frankfurt from November 4, 2016, through January 15, 2017. 

cp/eg/kbm (dpa, international-highrise-award.com)

DW recommends