1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites


The Chechen Republic, or Chechnya, is a republic of Russia, located in the North Caucasus in the southernmost part of Eastern Europe, and not far from the Caspian Sea. Chechnya's capital is the city of Grozny.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis