Badstuber returns to German colors in Löw′s latest squad | Sports| German football and major international sports news | DW | 20.03.2015
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Badstuber returns to German colors in Löw's latest squad

Germany coach Joachim Löw has announced his squad to face Australia and Georgia this month. Bayern Munich's Holger Badstuber and Borussia Dortmund's Ilkay Gündogan both return to the side after long-term injuries.

Germany coach Joachim Löw has announced his squad for the friendly against Australia in Kaiserslautern and EURO 2016 qualifier against Georgia in Tbilisi, both to be played this month.

Borussia Dortmund's Ilkay Gündogan and Bayern Munich's Holger Badstuber were both announced as part of the squad after returning from long-term injuries for their clubs this season.

For the first time since 2012, Badstuber will represent Germany on the international stage. He is joined by the returning Gündogan, who made his last appearance for Die Mannschaft back in August 2013.

Badstuber has played the full 90 minutes in six of his seven Bundesliga appearances this season, whilst Gündogan has seen a return to form with Dortmund after a recurring back injury.

Bundesliga 1899 Hoffenheim FSV Mainz 05

Kevin Volland lost his place, but is back with the U21s

There are five changes from the last squad that won against Spain and Gibraltar in November 2014. Erik Durm, Kevin Volland, Lars Bender, Antonio Rüdiger and Matthias Ginter have all lost their places.

As well as Bastuber and Gündogan, Mesut Özil, Mats Hummels and Bastian Schweinsteiger have all been recalled to the squad.

Germany will face Australia in Kaiserslautern on Wednesday, March 25, before facing Georgia on Sunday, March 29 in Tblisi.

Full squad list

(Goalkeepers) Manuel Neuer, Roman Weidenfeller, Ron-Robert Zieler

(Defenders) Shkodran Mustafi, Jonas Hector, Benedikt Höwedes, Mats Hummels, Holger Badstuber, Sebastian Rudy, Jerome Boateng

(Midfielders/Forwards) Sami Khedira, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Mesut Özil, Andre Schürrle, Lukas Podolski, Marco Reus, Thomas Müller, Karim Bellarabi, Toni Kroos, Mario Götze, Christoph Kramer, Ilkay Gündogan, Max Kruse