1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites

Arctic Council allows observer states

Lena Baudach
May 15, 2013

For the first time, a council of arctic nations is allowing non-arctic nations to join as observers. China, Japan, India, South Korea, Singapore and Italy have all been granted observer status.

Skip next section Related topics
Skip next section DW's Top Story

DW's Top Story

Russian President Vladimir Putin lays a wreath to the Eternal Flame at the Hall of Military Glory at the Mamayev Kurgan World War Two Memorial complex in Volgograd

Ukraine updates: Putin compares Ukraine to Stalingrad battle

Skip next section More stories from DW
Go to homepage