Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages

African Union (AU)

The African Union (AU) is a union consisting of 55 African states. Its goal is to promote political and economic cooperation on the continent.

The AU was established in 2001 in Addis Ababa to replace the Organization of African Unity (OAU). The most important decisions of the AU are made by the Assembly of the African Union, heads of state and government of its member states which meets twice a year. The AU's secretariat, the African Union Commission, is based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. This is a collection of DW's latest content on the AU.

Show more articles