1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites

UN Permanent Security Council


The permanent members of the UN Security Council are the five states to which the 1945 UN Charter grants a permanent seat on the council. They are China, Russia (formerly the Soviet Union), France, the UK, and the US.

Skip next section Opinion


Helena Humphrey

Bodies aren't battlefields

Helena Humphrey