Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Slovenia is a country located in Central Europe, bordering Italy, Austria, Hungary, Croatia and the Adriatic Sea. Its capital and largest city is Ljubljana.

Slovenia located at the crossroads of Central, Southern and Eastern Europe. Throughout its history, it belonged various states including the Holy Roman Empire, the Habsburg Monarchy and eventually SFR Yugoslavia. It gained independence in 1991 and joined the EU in 2004. This page collates all of DW's content on Slovenia.

Show more articles