1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites

Republic of Malta


Malta is a southern European island country in the Mediterranean Sea. Its capital is Valletta. It joined the European Union in 2004, and the eurozone in 2008.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis

Reports & Analysis

Skip next section Opinion


Barbara Wesel Kommentarbild App *PROVISORISCH*

Malta is a wake-up call

Barbara Wesel
Ivaylo Ditchev

Trade in passports undermines EU

Ivaylo Ditchev