Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Kyrgyzstan is a former Soviet republic located in Central Asia. It gained independence in 1991.

Kyrgyzstan is a landlocked country situated in the heart of Central Asia. First an autonomous oblast and then longtime republic within the Soviet Union, it became an independent state in 1991. Kyrgyzstan is home to the Kyrgyz people; its capital is Bishkek. The country is a member of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS). Here is a collection of DW's content on Kyrgyzstan.

Show more articles