Klaus Bergmann elected Chairman of the AIB’s Executive Committee | Press Releases | DW | 27.06.2013
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages

Press Releases

Klaus Bergmann elected Chairman of the AIB’s Executive Committee

Klaus Bergmann, Director of International Relations at Deutsche Welle (DW), was elected Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Association for International Broadcasting (AIB) for a two-year term.

Klaus Bergmann (c) DW

Klaus Bergmann

Bergmann will lead the work of the Executive Committee and help AIB develop its medium to long-term strategy. “I feel very honored to be given this opportunity to support AIB’s work to promote understanding of international broadcasting. As a representative of Deutsche Welle, Germany’s international broadcaster, I’m fully aware of the growing importance of international broadcasting as well as the challenges we face in an increasingly connected world.”

After studying law at Münster University, Gemany, Bergmann first worked as a lawyer and later for Radio Free Europe in Munich. In 1991, he became head of the Human Resources Department at DW in Cologne and two years later took charge of administration at DW in Berlin. Bergmann was the head of DW’s representative office in Brussels from 2009 to June 2012 before he became Director of International Relations at Deutsche Welle.

Other members of the Executive Committee are Mark Bunting (BBC Global News), Abubakar Jijiwa (Voice of Nigeria), John Maguire (Audiovisuel Extérieur de la France), Alexei Nikolov (Russia Today) and Lindsey Oliver (Bloomberg). As the governance body of the association, the Executive Committee supports and advises AIB’s Chief Executive Simon Spanswick on strategic issues.

Established in 1993, the AIB is a not-for-profit organisation, with headquarters in the United Kingdom. Currently it has 50 members including major international broadcasters from Africa, Asia-Pacific, Europe and North America as well as companies like Intelsat, Babcock, GlobeCast, Arabsat and Eutelsat.