Donald Sutherland to receive honorary Oscar | Film | DW | 07.09.2017
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Donald Sutherland to receive honorary Oscar

With some 140 films to his name, Canadian actor Donald Sutherland hasn't won an Oscar. That will change this year. He is one of four film stars and filmmakers to receive an honorary Oscar this year.

The Academy said Wednesday that Donald Sutherland's career was worthy of an honorary Oscar because he had become one of Hollywood's most memorable faces.

The 82-year-old, two-time Golden Globe winner got his break in 1967 with "The Dirty Dozen." He then went on to star in memorable films such as "M*A*S*H*" (1970), "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" (1978), "The Italian Job" (2003) and "The Hunger Games" (2012) in a career that has spanned six decades.

Read more: Germany sets Oscar hopes on neo-Nazi film starring Diane Kruger

Sutherland will receive the honorary Oscar at the Academy's 9th Annual Governors Awards in Los Angeles on November 11, along with three co-winners: writer-director Charles Burnett, cinematographer Owen Roizman and filmmaker Agnes Varda.

"This year's Governors Awards reflect the breadth of international, independent and mainstream filmmaking, and are tributes to four great artists whose work embodies the diversity of our shared humanity," said Academy President John Bailey.

None of the winners has received an Oscar before, added Bailey.

Independent filmmaker Burnett, 73, is known for his portrayals of the African-American experience. The 80-year-old Roizman is a five-time Oscar nominee with a number of well-known titles to his name, including "The Exorcist" (1973) and "Tootsie" (1982).

Belgium-born Varda, 89, is considered the "mother of the French New Wave." She wrote and directed her first feature film in 1956 with no formal training.

Read more: Oscars keep accounting firm behind best picture blunder

Jackie Chan, Lauren Bacall, Francis Ford Coppola, Oprah Winfrey, Angelina Jolie and Spike are among the past winners of the honorary Oscars.

Since 2009, the honorary Oscars have been awarded in a separate Governors Awards event in order to afford the winners greater attention and reduce the program of the main Oscars ceremony, which will next take place on March 4, 2018.

kbm/cmb (AP, AFP)

DW recommends