Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Angola is a country in Southern Africa. It is bordered by Namibia to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north and Zambia to the east. The capital and largest city is Luanda.

The former Portuguese colony declared its independence in 1975. In that same year Angola descended into civil war that lasted until 2002. The country has a population of 25million. This page is a collection of DW content on Angola.

Show more articles