World Chess Championship 2018: the competitors | All media content | DW | 07.03.2018
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


World Chess Championship 2018: the competitors

World Chess Champion Magnus Carlsen will be defending his title in November. One of these eight challengers will go head-to-head with the Norwegian. They first have to win the Candidates Tournament in Berlin.

Eight world class chess players compete from March 10 to March 28, 2018. The winner of this tournament will challenge current World Chess Champion, Norway's Magnus Carlsen, in November at the chess world championships in London. Our gallery shows portraits of chess players from David Llada's 2017 book "The Thinkers."

Unlike other sports, the chess championship is not split into men's and women's events, but men clearly dominate the field — or rather the board. The World Chess Federation, FIDE (Fédération Internationale des Échecs), also stages a women-only championship. Hungarian chess pro Judit Polgar has headed the women's global chess ranking for years, without ever competing for a title in the women's world championship.