Six Germans nominated in FIFA World Footballer of the Year list | Sports| German football and major international sports news | DW | 28.10.2014
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Six Germans nominated in FIFA World Footballer of the Year list

Six of Germany's World Cup winning team are on the shortlist for this year's world footballer of the year award, the FIFA Ballon d'Or. Germany's coach Joachim Löw has also been shortlisted by FIFA too.

Following their World Cup win in Brazil, German national team footballers make up the biggest chunk of this year's 23-man shortlist for the FIFA Ballon d'Or, formerly known as the World Footballer of the Year award.

The German cast includes the Bayern Munich stars Bastian Schweinsteiger, Philipp Lahm, Manuel Neuer, Thomas Müller and Mario Götze, along with Toni Kroos who moved from Bayern to Real Madrid in the summer.

Bayern's Dutch star Arjen Robben has also made the list as well as five players from Champions League winning team, Real Madrid: Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema, Sergio Ramos, James Rodriguez and last year's winner Cristiano Ronaldo.

Argentina's Lionel Messi, who has won the prize four times, is also included, as are his Barcelona teammates Andres Iniesta, Javier Mascherano and Neymar.

World Cup final celebrations. (Photo: dpa)

Philipp Lahm (center) and Thomas Müller (right) were key in Germany winning the World Cup

In the 10-man shortlist for FIFA Coach of the Year, Germany's national team coach Joachim Löw has also been nominated. Bayern coach Pep Guardiola and US national team manager Jürgen Klinsmann are also on the top coaches list.

The shortlist of players and coaches were selected by football experts from the FIFA football committee and the magazine France Football. The final winner will be chosen by the captains and coaches of national teams as well as by international media representatives, on January 12, 2015, in Zurich.

The full player shortlist: Gareth Bale (Wales), Karim Benzema (France), Diego Costa (Spain), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Angel Di Maria (Argentina), Mario Götze (Germany), Eden Hazard (Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Toni Kroos (Germany), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Javier Mascherano (Argentina), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Müller (Germany), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Paul Pogba (France), Sergio Ramos (Spain), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), James Rodriguez (Colombia), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

al/cb (dpa, SID)

DW recommends