1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
A hand removes a 10 euro note from the till of a supermarket filled with other notes and coins
Image: Michael Bihlmayer/CHROMORANGE/picture allianceImage: Michael Bihlmayer/CHROMORANGE/picture alliance


The euro is the official currency of the eurozone, which consists of 20 of the 27 EU member states. It is the second-largest reserve currency in the world after the US dollar.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis