1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites

Each of the 16 federal states in Germany has enacted its own anti-smoking law - je 30.12.2007 12

Michael Bär
December 30, 2007

As of January the first, smokers will be facing a far tougher regime in Europe ... every EU country has to have a smoking ban in place. It's up to each country to decide how liberal or draconian its measures can be. Here in Germany, each of the 16 federal states has enacted its own anti-smoking law. The new regulations mean Germany is going to be far more pleasant for non-smokers. Many bar owners though are worried they´re going to lose business.

Skip next section DW's Top Story

DW's Top Story

Government HQ in Chisinau, Moldova, with large banners of Moldova and the EU
Skip next section More stories from DW
Go to homepage