Beethoven: Concerto for Piano (Violin) in D Major, Op. 61 | Beethovenfest | DW | 27.08.2007

Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Beethoven: Concerto for Piano (Violin) in D Major, Op. 61

Ludwig van Beethoven's Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61 is among the most popular and well known works in the genre. The version for piano and orchestra, on the other hand, is relatively unfamiliar.

Beethovenfest logo

Pianist Olli Mustonen and conductor Paavo Jarvi performed the concerto

Inspired by the pianist and composer Muzio Clementi, Beethoven rewrote Opus 61 for piano in 1807, adding two quite virtuosic cadences.

Finnish pianist Olli Mustonen, accompanied by the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, performed Beethoven's piano concerto on Aug. 26 in the Beeethovenhalle Bonn as part of this year's Beethovenfest. Paavo Jarvi conducted.

The first movement, Allegro ma non troppo, is available as podcast or audio-on-demand.

DW recommends

Audios and videos on the topic

  • Date 27.08.2007
  • Author Klaus Gehrke (kjb)
  • Print Print this page
  • Permalink