World Cup finalists Japan will not be in the Summer Olympics | Sports| German football and major international sports news | DW | 07.03.2016
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


World Cup finalists Japan will not be in the Summer Olympics

Despite appearing in the Women's World Cup Final in 2011 and 2015, Japan will not contend for a medal at this summer's Olympics. China and Australia have qualified from the Asian section.

Japan, the defending silver medalists in the Olympics and the defeated World Cup finalists, have failed to qualify for this summer's Olympic Games in Rio.

In the final round of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) qualifying for the tournament, host nation Japan did not have a good start. With just one point after three matches, Japan had to win their final two matches and Australia and China had to lose their final two matches in order for Japan to have a chance at qualification.

Japan comfortably defeated Vietnam 6-1, but Australia defeated North Korea 2-1 and China won 1-0 over South Korea on Monday to secure their respective places in this summer's tournament.

Japan won the Women's World Cup in 2011. 13 players from the championship squad were suited up for the match against Vietnam, including FIFA Women's World Player of the Year finalist Aya Miyama. This is the first time that Japan has not qualified for the Summer Olympics since 2000.

Meanwhile, this is the first Olympics for Australia's women's football time since 2004, and China's since hosting in 2008.