Visit the new DW website

Take a look at the beta version of We're not done yet! Your opinion can help us make it better.

  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages

UEFA Champions League

The UEFA Champions League, known simply as the Champions League, is the most prestigious club competition in European football and one of the most prestigious in the world.

The best soccer clubs in Europe compete in the Champions League, a tournament organized by football's governing body on the continent, UEFA. The group stage is made up of 32 teams drawn into eight groups of four; the eight winners and eight runners-up proceed to the knockout phase. In 1992, the tournament was rebranded from the European Cup, which was a straight knockout tournament. Below is a collation of all of DW Sports' recent articles about the competition.

Show more articles