Nominate someone for the German Development Media Awards | Media Development | DW | 02.04.2013
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages

Media Development

Nominate someone for the German Development Media Awards

Have you seen, heard or read a powerful example of human rights journalism? Would you like to nominate it for our award? Then tell us about it and we'll take care of the rest.

The newly inaugurated German Development Media Awards honor journalists worldwide for their outstanding reporting on human rights and put the spotlight on journalists telling important stories affecting their communities, countries and regions. In order to give as many journalists as possible the chance of winning one of the German Development Media Awards, we are accepting nominations from others. So if you have heard, seen or read a powerful piece of reporting focussing on human rights and development issues, let us know.

The report you wish to nominate must have been published or broadcast during the period January 1, 2012 to May 31, 2013 inclusive, and the author must come from Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Middle East, Eastern Europe or Germany.

Please send an email to GermanMediaAwards(at) with the journalist's name and, if possible, the person's contact details.

Please also include the title of the suggested entry and details on when and where it was published or broadcast. If the journalist in question agrees, his or her entry will then be accepted for consideration.

We look forward to receiving your suggestions!

The German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) has a long tradition of honoring German journalists who focus on international development issues. Now, in partnership with Germany’s International broadcaster Deutsche Welle, the new German Media Development Awards are also open to journalists from Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe, Latin America and the Middle East.

Submissions to the competition can include stories in all journalistic formats in print, radio, TV and online. The stories should focus clearly on human rights and development. Entries can be in one of seven core languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Russian or Spanish. Entries in other languages broadcast by Deutsche Welle will also be accepted if accompanied by a translation in one of the seven core languages. A jury of acclaimed and independent journalists will select the six winning entries.

Each of the winners will receive a 2,000 euro cash prize as well as a trip to Berlin to attend the awards ceremony on August 14, 2013.

WWW links