Media freedom representative Dunja Mijatović awarded Médaille Charlemagne | Global Media Forum | DW | 27.05.2015
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages

Global Media Forum

Media freedom representative Dunja Mijatović awarded Médaille Charlemagne

OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media at this year’s Global Media Forum

Dunja Mijatović, the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media, is the 15th winner of the Médaille Charlemagne European media prize. Ahead of the presentation of the annual International Charlemagne Prize to Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament, Mijatovićwas honored for her outstanding commitment to press freedom at a ceremony in Aachen, Germany, on April 30, 2015. Richard Porter of the British news channel BBC gave the presentation speech.

In her acceptance speech, Mijatović said that the award sends a clear signal to journalists throughout the world that freedom of expression and freedom of the media are important for society’s welfare. “This distinction is a great honor for my entire team and recognizes our work to support and promote media freedom in the member states of the OSCE.”

Both Mijatović and Porter are among the many esteemed panelists at this year's Deutsche Welle Global Media Forum in Bonn. Mijatović will take part in the plenary session entitled “Foreign policy in 140 characters: How technology is redefining diplomacy” on Tuesday, June 23.

The Médaille Charlemagne European media prize

The non-monetary “Médaille Charlemagne pour les Médias Européens” prize has been awarded annually since 2000 to honor European personalities who have made an outstanding contribution in the field of media, to the process of European integration and the development of a European identity. It is awarded by an association whose members include the cities of Aachen, Germany, and Maastricht, the Netherlands, and the German-French culture television channel Arte.

Previous prize winners include the former Director General of WDR, Fritz Pleitgen, in 2005, Reporters Without Borders in 2009 and the Russian newspaper Novaya Gazetain 2012.