Media Awards: Submit your entry by May 31! | Media Development | DW | 07.05.2013
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages

Media Development

Media Awards: Submit your entry by May 31!

These awards honor outstanding reports focusing on human rights and development. Winning journalists of this worldwide competition will each receive 2,000 euros.

The competition is open to journalists from around the world. Entries can be in all journalistic formats (print, online, TV and radio) published or broadcast for the first time between January 1, 2012 and May 31, 2013. Submissions must focus on human rights and development.

Entries can be in one of the seven competition languages: Arabic, Chinese, German, English, French, Russian or Spanish. Submissions can also be in an additional language broadcast by Deutsche Welle if accompanied by a translation in a competiton language.

A winner will be picked from each of the following regions: Africa, Asia, Latin America and Eastern Europe as well as Germany. The prizes are valued at 2,000 euros each and will be awarded at a ceremony held August 14, 2013 in Berlin.

Germany's Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and Deutsche Welle (DW) are jointly holding the competition for the first time and have opened it to international journalists. Over the previous 37 years the competition was open to German journalists only. Jury members for 2013 include Dr. Auma Obama, head of the Sauti Kuu Foundation; filmmaker Dr. Rita Knobel-Ulrich; Michael Windfuhr, deputy-director of the German Institute for Human Rights; and Ingo Zamperoni, host of the daily TV news program, Tagesthema, broadcast by ARD.

Submissions must be received by May 31, 2013. Further information and submission details can be found at:

WWW links