Hear selections from DSO′s first concert in 2011 | Music | DW | 21.01.2011
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Hear selections from DSO's first concert in 2011

DW presents two works from the DSO concert to usher in the New Year at the German State Department. The orchestra performed music by Edvard Grieg and Ottorino Respighi, among others.

The DSO play a New Year's concert in Berlin

The DSO was invited to perform at the prestigious event on January 11, 2011

Edvard Grieg (1843-1907): From Holberg's Time, suite in the old style

Edvarg Grieg's "From Holberg's Time" is a tribute from one artist hailing from the mountains of Norway to another, the author Ludvig Holberg (1684-1754).

Grieg takes the listener back to the era of Holberg in this work that recalls the music of the Baroque.

Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936): Simone Molinaro, Ballet music from Il Conte Orlando (1599): transcription for strings from Antique Dances and Arias, Suite No. 1: Allegro moderato.

A lute - Respighi adapted music for lutes from the Renaissance in his Antique Dances and Arias

Ottorino Respighi's "Antique Dances and Arias" is a series of three suites that the composer adapted from music for lutes written in the 16th and 17th centuries.

The Italian composer transcribed the works for string orchestra, including this piece originally by Simone Molinaro, ballet music from "Il Conte Orlando."

Have a listen in the recordings below from the DSO's New Year's concert at the German State Department on January, 11.

Audios and videos on the topic