1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
An ECOWAS staff member walks past a stage before a press conference
Image: MICHELE SPATARI AFP via Getty Images



The 15-member Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional political and economic bloc. The group has suspended four members in recent years, most recently Niger, after military coups.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis
Skip next section Embedded external element

Embedded external element