BOBs Award Ceremony | Topics | DW | 05.03.2012
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


BOBs Award Ceremony

Logo The BOBs 2012

Logo The BOBs 2012

Since their inception in 2004, Deutsche Welle's annual blog awards, also known as The BOBs, have established themselves as the premier international and multilingual competition for social media websites and online campaigns and initiatives. The BOBs are the only competition conducted across the Internet in 11 languages. Members of the global online community have submitted websites in 11 language categories and six multilingual categories.

In 2012, the Special Topic Award will honor a site that focuses on culture and education. DW will highlight blogs, portals, video channels and online projects that examine the right to education and intercultural dialogue.

Other categories include: Best Blog, Best Video Channel, Best Use of Technology for Social Good, the Reporters Without Borders Award and Best Social Activism Campaign.

The contest organizers requested submissions for online initiatives that use social networks and other forms of digital communication in an exemplary fashion to help benefit democracy, freedom and human rights. The competition languages are Arabic, Bengali, Chinese, English, French, German, Indonesian, Persian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish.

With this competition, Deutsche Welle fosters freedom of the press and freedom of opinion. At the same time, the prize helps to illustrate the diversity of the international blogosphere.

The jury-selected winners in each of the six multilingual categories will be awarded their prizes at the Deutsche Welle Global Media Forum on June 26th in Bonn.

WWW links