T-Mobile Names Tour de France Team | Germany| News and in-depth reporting from Berlin and beyond | DW | 25.06.2004
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


T-Mobile Names Tour de France Team

Jan Ullrich is ready to lead the T-Mobile Team in what will be his seventh Tour de France. The Tour objectives are clear, T-Mobile said in a statement. "The Team will be supporting Ullrich in his attempts to win the race outright." Ullrich underlined these ambitions. "I have never finished worst than second at the Tour," he said. "It should stay that way." The T-Mobile team will be made up of five Germans: Jan Ullrich, Rolf Aldag, Matthias Kessler, Andreas Kloeden and Erik Zabel. They are joined by four foreign riders: Santiago Botero (Colombia), Sergei Ivanov (Russia), Giuseppe Guerini and Daniele Nardello (both Italy). Ullrich won the Tour in 1997 and finished second last year. He is expected to be the biggest challenge to Lance Armstrong's attempt at a record sixth Tour de France win.