1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Messi, Lloyd and Ndjeng in for Puskas Award

The nominations for the best goal in 2015 have been released and there are some surprise names on the list. One that isn't is Lionel Messi, but will he win?

The finalists for the Puskas Award, the FIFA prize for the best goal of the year, were released by the world's governing body on Friday. Lionel Messi faces stiff competition if he is to win an award he has yet to collect. US Women's team captain and star Carli Lloyd's spectacular lob from the centre of the pitch in the 5-2 defeat of Japan in the World Cup final is one, but there are plenty of others hoping to win.

Messi has been nominated for his goal for Barcelona against Athletic Bilbao in the Spanish Cup final which saw the Argentine star weave his way past four defenders as well as the goalkeeper before scoring. Another contender for the award is Paderborn's midfielder, Marcel Ndjeng. The former Augsburg and Hertha Berlin player scored an outrageous volley from nearly 45 yards against Bolton Wanderers in pre-season.

There are, in total, 10 nominees with the winner announced at the Ballon d'Or ceremony on January 11 2016. The prize is named after legendary Hungarian striker Ferenc Puskas and has never been won by a German footballer. Last year's winner was James Rodriguez for his volley at the 2014 World Cup for Colombia against Uruguay.

jh/apc (AP)

Audios and videos on the topic