Hosts England knocked out of Rugby World Cup after loss to Australia | News | DW | 03.10.2015
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


Hosts England knocked out of Rugby World Cup after loss to Australia

England, the hosts of the Rugby World Cup, have been eliminated from the competition after losing 33-13 to Australia. The loss makes England the first host nation to fail to progress beyond the pool matches.

England gave away nine penalties as they were beaten 33-13 by Australia at Twickenham on Saturday night.

In other pool matches on Saturday, after their heroics against South Africa, Japan beat Samoa 26-5. South Africa beat Scotland 34-16.

After losing to Wales, England needed to beat two-time champions Australia to keep alive hopes of qualifying from Pool A, the most difficult group at the tournament.

Australia faced their first major test in the competition and came through scoring three tries and kicking four penalties. They took the lead after eight minutes with a penalty and were up 17-3 at half time.

Bernard Foley scored two tries - converting both of them himself. He also kicked four penalties.

Rugby Union Südafrika vs Japan

Earlier on Saturday, Japan beat Samoa 26-5 at Brighton

In the second half England revived to narrow the score but were never ahead of the Australians. Anthony Watson scored a try on 56" which was converted by Owen Farrell who also kicked two penalties.

But when Farrell was given a yellow card on 71" it signaled the end of England's hopes. Matt Giteau's try for Australia on 80" just confirmed the Australian dominance of the game.

"We weren't worried about the score, we just wanted to [win]," Australian captain Stephen Moore said as he praised the performances of Foley, back-rowers David Pocock and Michael Cooper, and the scrum.

Commenting after the match, former England player Jonny Wilkinson said "a dream has gone begging."

Former England coach Clive Woodward said England had played into Australia's hands: "they gave away five penalties at scrum."

Host teams have reached the semifinals or better in all but one of the previous Rugby World Cups. Previous hosts South Africa won in 1995 and New Zealand in 2011.

jm/cmk (AFP, Reuters)

DW recommends