German hockey teams in double triumph at Eurohockey 2013 | Sports| German football and major international sports news | DW | 25.08.2013
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages


German hockey teams in double triumph at Eurohockey 2013

The German men's hockey team has won the final of the Eurohockey Nations Championships in Belgium, completing a historic double triumph after the women's team claimed victory at the competition on Saturday.

Sunday's 3:1 (0:0) win against Belgium in front of some 8,400 spectators in the Belgian town of Boom marks the eighth time the German men's team has won the European trophy.

Germany made a strong return after the host's Tom Boon scored a controversial goal in the 38th minute to take Belgium to a 1:0 lead, with the first German goal coming in the 41st minute (Martin Zwicker), the second in the 51st minute (Benjamin Wess) and the third directly after that (Mats Grambusch).

Belgium had defeated Germany 1:2 in the semi-finals.

The men's expected victory comes a day after Germany's women somewhat unexpectedly claimed their Eurohockey title by defeating England 2-0 in a penalty shootout after a 4:4 draw in regular time.

It was the German women's team's second Eurohockey trophy, and follows a disappointing Olympics performance that saw the team make it only to seventh place.

tj/hc (dpa, SID)