Euratom | Europe| News and current affairs from around the continent | DW | 28.04.2004
  1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages



Euratom is the abbreviation for the European Atomic Energy Community. The institution, founded in 1957, brings together nuclear power-producing Western European countries and promotes the peaceful use and further development of the nuclear energy. Its members include France, Belgium, Italy, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. In 1973, Denmark, the United Kingdom and Ireland. The treaty creating Euratom was signed at the same time as the Treaty of Rome, which created the European economic community.

DW recommends