1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages

Press Releases

DW World Music Award 2002 Honors Belgian Radio Feature on Music from Surinam

Deutsche Welle awards radio prize for 6th time -

Further awards for Radio Nacional de Espana (R.N.E.) and DW - Awards presentation at DW World Music Festival "Oye Listen" in Bonn on July 14, 2002

The chips have fallen for the winner of the DW World Music Award 2002. Deutsche Welle (DW) announced on July 2, 2002, that this year the first prize worth €4,000 will go to VRT-Radio 1 in Brussels. The Belgian broadcaster is being honored for its production "Club Paramaribo", part of a weekly program called "Club Tropical." The authors of the winning entry are Meike Reijerman, Jeroen Revalk, Anne-Marie Segers and Zjakki Willems.

Second place has been awarded to DW for a radio feature "The First Rasta" from a series entitled "Freestyle Scene" (author: Francis Gay). Third place goes to the program "Discopolis" from Radio Nacional de Espana (R.N.E.). The author: José Miguel López.

This year marks the sixth time the DW World Music Award has been presented. A total of 18 authors or teams of authors from 12 countries - ranging from Canada, Bosnia-Herzegovina and India - competed for this year's honors.

The first prize winner, "Club Paramaribo", is a feature about Kaseko, a Caribbean style of music that is still widely unknown in Europe. In an "extremely effective and entertaining mixture of feature, documentary and music program", the authors portrayed the current music scene of Surinam, the jury said. The radio program also explores the music and the culture of Surinam immigrants in the Netherlands.

DW has sponsored the World Music Awards every year since 1997. The prize is awarded to radio programs that contribute to generating greater public interest in world music. An international jury of musicians and radio journalists evaluate not only content and presentation of the submitted entries but above all the creative handling of the medium radio. The aim of the competition is to present the music of different cultures and promote its recognition. In conjunction with the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), DW has established a radio competition that has earned broad recognition well beyond the borders of Europe.

This year's awards will be presented at the DW World Music Festival "Oye Listen" in Bonn on Sunday, July 14, 2002.
Three top international world music acts will perform at the DW World Music Festival (Start: 5p.m., concert court of Bonn's Museum Mile): Brazil's superstar Gilberto Gil with a "Tribute to Bob Marley", the group Egschiglen with traditional and contemporary music from Mongolia, and the West African-French fusion project Electro Bamako with Mamani Keita and Marc Minelli.

The DW World Music Festival "Oye Listen" can also be heard as a full-length livestream on the Internet at www.dw3d.de.

July 2, 2002

Christoph Jumpelt

Christoph Jumpelt

Head of Corporate Communications and Spokesperson

T. +49.228.429-2041